Thursday, October 30, 2008

The Quarter Life Crisis

well maybe it's not a crisis...more like an irritatingly nagging concern about the fact that i'm going to be 25 in less than a month. it's the all too uncomfortable realization that, in spite of my declaring to be a Toy R Us kid forever, that i have to grow up. it's the thoughts that i try my hardest to push aside on my morning ride into work about where i would like to be in the next 5 years. it's planning for a future that isnt promised, isnt certain, and is subjective to a variety of known and unknown variable.

um...this sucks.

not that im depressed about it or anything...i'm glad ive made it this far and i figure i can only keep going up *crosses fingers and spins around 3 times* but it seems like, for me, this is a point in my life where i have to think critically about what i want to do with my life. im not thinking 10 years ahead...no no, that's too hard...i'll just think ahead 5 and take it from there.

and as uncertain things seem to be at times, ive got to say that i feel ok knowing that ive got some semblance of a plan. that from working my way backwards from my goals...i can see what steps i might need to take to get me where i want to be. so im not afraid of my future at all, but the fact that im the one responsible for myself and my own personal growth has given me somethings to consider.

i know i need to go back to school. do i want to go back to school? eh, not particularly, just because it's so expensive, but i do welcome the chance to learn new things and interact with other bright minds. i'll be trying to get my mind geared towards GRE prep so that i'll be ready for it come next year. i need to get myself back into that college way of thinking....the standardized tests, the personal statement, the fasfa, the loans (ugh...the loans). ive been outta school going on 3 years now, and i can see why folks who tell you to finish up your schooling while you're still young...because once you get out into the 'world' and are working full time and are carving out some kind of a social life for yourself the idea of school, books, tests, studying...yea, not too appealing.

but i will conquer.

of course the yearnings for the stable relationship are present as i figure i'll want to start a family within the next decade or so. but...lack of prospects and a rather short tolerance for nonsense on my part has continued to push those yearnings down, down, down, lol.

i dont plan on moving from the area anytime soon...i actually like northern VA...if i were to move anywhere out of VA, it would have to be somewhere further south, and i know im not even ready to begin realistically thinking about doing that. so for now i will continue to daydream about my summer home by a nice lil river down in Savannah.

career...well i know i want to stay in the non-profit world. (YES!) but i dont want to take graphic design on professionally...at least i dont want to work for anyone else - i like freelancing and would like to see my freelancing business expand in the years to come. but when it comes to the 9-5, i think the non-profit sector is where i'll be. ideally...id love to have a job with flexible hours...where i'm not always behind a desk staring at a computer screen...something where life and work can come together as one, but id still be able to leave my work at work at the end of the day. i dont want to be a slave to the workforce. i want to have some kind of creative and academic freedom to just do whatever it is i'm doing, knowing that the work is fullfilling, doing some kind of good for a cause larger than myself, and pays me well (hey, i can dream)

so in a nutshell thats a glimpse into some of the things going on in my head as of late. i wont even begin to talk about my musings on religion. might have to save that post for another day.

Peace
CBrava

Monday, October 27, 2008

It's just too damn sad

I'd been following up with the events surrounding Jennifer Hudson's family...

For those who don't know, read up on it here. I just can't even rehash it...it's just too much.

I just don't understand...why? Why do people just treat each other so recklessly? Why take someone else's life? It just isnt right...and i can only imagine what the Hudson family is going through right now.

For those who pray, send up some prayers for this family. For those who don't pray, just send out some positive thoughts or something to the family. They are in definite need of it right now.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Are you there Jah? It's me Ras-Trent...

usually i dont watch snl...it just hasnt been funny to me in years, but when Tina Fey broke out the Sarah Palin impersonations snl got my attention once again. in last night's episode i found a little gem of a skit about a Rasta Man...Ras-Trent. i havent stopped laughing...seriously...skiddley whoooaaaa ;)

Can i just say...my favorite part occurs when the countdown reads about 0:25...let's keep it real Ras-Trent...lmao



CBrava

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

It’s the small things…

Well loves, I liked that post the other day so much I decided to write another one about my forays into the fashion realm.


So today, I felt like channeling the masculine. For ages women have been putting our own personal touch on otherwise masculine pieces of clothing and I’ve always admired it. There’s just something classy and tough about a nicely pulled together outfit with some masculine touches. You get the best of both worlds really.


Behold:


*again...that pile of clothes...lol, forgive me y'all




Now, let me just say….I LOVE my shoes…those shoes…have you ever gone shopping and seen something that just SCREAMS out to you? Well that’s what those shoes did for me. I’m telling you, they were just sitting on the shelf WAITING for me to walk by. We were meant to be. Oh and you see the trouser socks? I know you love the trouser socks…because I surely do!


For today’s color scheme, we left it a little subdued with the black and gray, but that blue top is so electric that it provides a nice contrast to the winter tones and really makes the outfit pop I think. I’m usually not one to wear a lot of blue, but lately I’ve had this thing for bright, vibrant, fun blues. Naturally when I saw this shirt online (www.avenue.com) I knew that it needed to make a home in my closet.


I might be a bit of an impulse buyer, but at least I’m a fierce, albeit economically thrifty one. ;)



Then there’s the tie…oh how I love ties on women – it’s so bad ass. This tie I’ve had for quite awhile now; it was my first, a simple black tie. I’d love to expand and really get into some more colorful ties, but I find that – as much as I love to wear ties – I just haven’t been including that look into my styles lately. But every now and then…. :D


So now the run down…

*More Colors Available*" type="hidden">Bedford Cord Shirt in Caribbean ($16.88) - Avenue.com

Trouser Socks ($2.99 for a pack of 3) - AJ Wright

Shoes ($16) - Ross

Tie ($10)

Gray Sweater Vest ($15) - Old Navy

Perfect Fit Pants ($20) - Ashley Stewart

Total Cost of Outfit: $80.87


Though the economy is suffering right now, your wardrobe doesn’t have to. ;)


Peace

CBrava